About Shimoga Police

The Superintendent of Police, Shimoga, is the officer incharge of the police administration of the entire district. He works directly under the control of Inspector-General of Police, Eastern Range, Davanagere, who is responsible to the Director General & Inspector General of Police in Karnataka, Bangalore. The Superintendent of Police is responsible for all matters relating to the Department’s internal management and economy, maintenance of discipline and regular and punctual performance of all police duties in the district. He has to ensure prevention, investigation and detection of crimes and has to see that the staff posted under him are properly trained and kept efficient.

For the purpose of police administration, the district is divided into four sub-divisions with headquarters at Shimoga, Bhadravathi, Sagar & Shikaripura respectively. The Shimoga Sub-Division is headed by a Deputy Superintendent of Police, and has four circles, viz, Shimoga Rural, Kote, Doddapet & Thirthahalli. The Bhadravathi Sub-Division is under the charge of an Deputy Superintendent of Police and has two circles, viz, Bhadravathi Rural & Bhadravathi Town. The Sagar Sub-Division is under the charge of an Deputy Superintendent of Police and consists of two circles i.e., Sagar Rural & Hosanagara. ( including PI as SHO at Sagar Town P.S.) Finally Shikaripura Sub-Division is under the charge of an Deputy Superintendent of Police, and consists of two circles i.e, Shikaripura & Sorab. A Circle Inspector of Police is in charge of each circle which comprises two police stations. There is an Armed Reserved Police Force stationed at Shimoga and Bhadravathi. The Circle Inspectors have to guide and supervise the work of Sub-Inspectors (Station House Officers) who are in charge of police stations. They have to investigate personally grave crimes occurring in their circles. The Sub-Inspectors, who are responsible for the efficient working of police stations (which number 25 in the district), have to maintain law and order and also attend to prevention and detection of crimes occurring in their respective jurisdictions. There are 43 Sub-Inspectors of Police in the district and the break-up of this number is as follows (as on 30th June-2006) :-

Staff Strength
Incharge of Police Stations
District Crime Record Bureau
District Special Branch
District Scienttific Aid
Police Computer Wing

As of June -2006, Shimoga Police is provided with :-

Vehicle Strength
Ambassador Cars
Toyato Qualis
Maruthi Gypsy
Tempo Trax
Mahindra Mini Bus
Bed Ford Vans
Tata 407
Tata 807
Open Truck
Mahindra Cab King
Tempo Traveller
Maruthi Omni
Swaraj Mazda
Tata 1109 Tanker
Tata Spacio/Sumo
Bajaj Chetak Scooter
Rajdoot Yamaha
Yezdi Motorbike
Bullet Motorcycle
Yamaha YBX
Hero Honda Splendor
TVS Fiero Motorcycle

About Us
Mission Statement
About Shimoga
About Shimoga Police
Organisation Structure
Police Welfare
The Police stations are the lowest functional unit of police department. At present there are 25 Police stations in shimoga district. The following table shows the Police sub-divisions of the district comprising of circles, police stations and outposts.
Police Stations
Out Posts
Shimoga Doddapete

1. Doddapete
2. Traffic

1. Vinobanagar
Kote 1. Kote
2, Jayanagar
3. Women
1. Umblebailu
Shimoga Rural 1. Shimoga Rural
2. Kumsi
1. Ayanur
Thirthahalli 1. Thirthahalli
2. Malur
1. Agumbe
2. Konandur
Bhadravathi Bhadravati Town 1. Old Town
2. New Town
3. Traffic
Bhadravathi Rural 1. Bhadravati(R)
2. Papertown
3. Holehonnur
1. B.R.P
Sagar Sagar Rural 1. Sagar Town
2. Sagar Rural
3. Kargal
4. Jog
2. Anandapura
3. Talguppa
4. Linganamakki
5. Aralagodu
6. Byakodu
7. AB Site
Hosanagar 1. Hosanagar
2. Ripponpete
1. Nagar
2. Mastikatte
3. Huncha
Shikaripura Shikaripura 1. Shikaripur
2. Shiralakoppa
1. Narsapura
Soraba 1. Soraba
2. Anavatti
1. Chandragutti
2. Jade
3. Kamanavalli
Special Units
District Special Branch:- A Unit named as District Special Branch is attached to the District Police Office. It is directly under the control of the Superintendent of police. It has to collect intelligence concerning political, communal, social, students, labours, Naxal activities, criminal and any other matters of importance. In this section, there are one Inspector, one Sub-Inspector and three Assistant Sub-Inspector assisted by 13 Head Constables, one Special Branch Sub-Inspector & Head Constable is stationed at Bhadravathi and another at Sagar.

District Crime Record Bureau:- There is a District Crime Record Bureau working under the direct control of the Superintendent of Police at Shimoga. It serves as the agency for collecting particulars about crimes and criminals and for maintaining records about them and it disseminates the information to police officers in and outside the district. In this section, there are one Police Inspector, one Sub-Inspector, assisted by five Head Constables.

District Crime and Intelligence Bureau:- This unit is working under the direct supervision of the Supdt.of Police, which would collect, intelligence and take, action regarding gambling, prostitution, drugs and other social elements. They are also supposed to work regarding offences of special importance and investigation of murder, dacoity and other sensational cases which are undetected. This unit is headed by a police inspector. He is assisted by a complement of Civil head constables.
Finger Print Unit:- This Wing is headed by an officer of the rank of Police Inspector. He is assisted by 01 Police sub-Inspector,1 Civil Head Constable, 02 Civil Constables. This wing is working directly under the control of Addl. Supdt.of Police. It mainly deals with visiting scene of offence in theft cases and important cases.

District Armed Reserve Police:- There are two district armed reserve police force in this district. One is located at Bhadravathi headed by 1 RPI and another at Shimoga headed by DSP(DAR).DAR Bhadravathi is headed by an officer of the rank of RPI who is working under the supervision of DSP(DAR) Shimoga. DSP(DAR) Shimoga who is head of the district armed reserve and is assisted by 02 RPIs, 07 RSIs, 11 ARSIs, AHC’s and APC’s. This unit is providing standing guards, escorts, and striking force in emergent law and order situations.

Motor Transport Section:- This wing is placed at DAR, Shimoga and is functioning under the Supervision of DSP (DAR) consisting of AHC Mechanic, AHC drivers, APC drivers, APC Motor cycle riders, APC mechanic and APC Cleaners. Motor vehicle section will look after the repairs and maintenance of all the Police Vehicles of the District